American Library Association Announces 2014 Award Winners!

Summary of the 2014 Youth Media Award Winners provided by the American Library Association

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the 2014 award winning selections for top books, videos, and audio books for children and young adults on January 27, 2014 at it's Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia. These awards, recognized worldwide, help to guide parents, educators, and librarians in selecting the best materials for children and young adults. Below are the award winners and honor books selected for the 2014 awards.

The John Newbery Medal is given for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. This award is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of ALA. The 2014 Newbery Medal winner is Flora & Ulysses; An Illuminated Adventure by Kate DiCamillo.  Four Newbery Honor Books were also named, including: Doll Bones by Holly Black, The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes, One Came Home by Amy Timberlake, and Paperboy by Vince Vawter.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The 2014 Caldecott Medal was awarded to Locomotive, illustrated by Brian Floca. Three Caldecott Honor Books were also name, including: Journey written/illustrated by Aaron Becker, Flora and the Flamingo written/illustrated by Molly Idle, and Mr. Wuffles! written/illustrated by David Wiesner.

The Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award and the Coretta Scott King (illustrator) book awards are given to outstanding African American authors and illustrators who demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. The 2014 winner of the King Author award is P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia. Three King Honor Books were selected: March: Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers, and Words with Wings by Nikki Grimes. The King (illustrator) award is Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me, illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Daniel Beaty. One King Illustrator Honor Book was selected: Nelson Mandela, written/illustrated by Kadir Nelson.

The Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement, awarded bi-annually to an African American author or illustrator who has made a significant and lasting literary contribution. The 2014 Award for Lifetime Achievement was awarded to Patricia McKissack and her late husband Fredrick McKissack. Their works explore topics such as family based folklore and nonfiction, including topics ranging from slavery days to noted men and women in African American history, both past and present.

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. This year's award winner is Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick. Four Printz Honor Books were selected: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal, Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner, and Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool.

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience are: A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet (children ages 0-10). Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell (middle school ages 11-13), Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (teen ages 13-18).

The Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences are: Brewster by Mark Slouka, The Death of Bees by Lisa O'Donnell, Golden Boy: A Novel by Abigail Tarttelin, Help for the Haunted by John Searles, Lexicon: A Novel by Max Barry, Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu, Mother, Mother: A Novel by Koren Zailckas, Relish by Lucy Knisley, The Sea of Tranquility: A Novel by Katja Millay, and The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults was awarded to Markus Zusak. His books include The Book Thief, I am the Messenger, Getting the Girl and Fighting Ruben Wolfe.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished book for beginning readers was awarded to The Watermelon Seed written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli. Three honor books were selected: Ball written/illustrated by Mary Sullivan, A Big Guy Took My Ball! written and illustrated by Mo Willems and Penny and Her Marble written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes.

The William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first time author writing for teens was awarded to Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn.

For more information on any of these ALA youth media awards, or other awards presented please visit